1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for a push in the right direction.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by cjtom, Mar 15, 2009.

1. cjtom

cjtom Guest

Hey ho!

I'm really really confused about everything and I just wanted some opinions and advice and stories and stuff that might help me make my mind up :slight_smile:

I'm in my last year at the college I'm at now and I have to do one year at another college. Then I was hoping to take a gap year for travelling and then move on to university.

I've always been unsure about what career I wanted to pursue and the problem I'm having is I'm starting to see it all as being pointless. I've started to think spending the money on university isn't really worth it. My brother went to uni and is now unemployed (although granted thats down to his stubborness also). To be honest I'm tired of education completely and I feel like I'm ready to grow up and move on. College is making me really unhappy and, although I've met some great people there, my heart just isn't in it anymore. I still haven't found my calling in life but I feel like my dreams are bigger than the environment I'm in now and I've come as far as I can go in my current situation.

The flipside to this is I'm really worried about pulling on my big boy shoes and getting out into the real world to be a grown up. I'm worried that quitting college too soon might be the biggest mistake of my life!

I'm looking for advice but I'm also wondering what you all did.

Did you go to college or uni and think it was a complete waste of time and money or did you love it?

Did you take the plunge and get into the real world straight out of high school and not look back?

I would really appreciate whatever opinions you all have :slight_smile:

2. twixy30