1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuck in an unwinnable situation

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by 3n, Sep 30, 2016.

1. 3n

3n Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    (Sorry for the really long post, I just don't know what to think)
    So here's what's going on:
    Turns out my best friend (who I've known since I could talk) is homophobic. I recently reconnected with him after 2-3 years of no contact (I'm a musician and he's an athlete; we never really had time to hang out anymore), and he showed me a new side to him that I never noticed.

At one point when we were hanging out, he asked if I had a girlfriend/liked anyone. I responded that I'm not really into dating (I didn't want to suddenly come out to him, I've always been really nervous about that kind of stuff). I guess he took that as a metaphor for being gay, because he responded with something along the lines of "please don't tell me you're one of those fags". I asked him why he's saying things like that, and he would cite religion or just say "those kind of people are crazy". I eventually just dropped the subject and continued to hang out for the day.

I have no bloody idea how to react to this. I have a couple options.

1: Come out to him.
    I'm uncertain about this. Usually I don't mind what people think, but he lives in my old town (where most of my non-immediate family lives). I'm afraid if I come out to him, word'll get out to them.

2: I can just ignore him
    I'd rather not, kind of a dick move. It's obvious that I'm hiding something if I ignore him. I also would not like to resort to this.

3: Fake it