1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I have DLE...FML.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Mestiz0, Mar 24, 2009.

1. Mestiz0

Hey everyone :icon_redf

So, basically I have no one I can really talk to about this. I just don't think anyone would be able to understand what I am going through.

I was diagnosed with Discoid Lupus Erythematosus (DLE) my junior year of high school. I am now a sophomore in college and DLE is really starting to affect me. I just don't understand why I have to be diagnosed with it! It's a disease that tends to be genetic and also affect WOMEN. Well not one person in my family has had this, and ummm *looks between legs* I am definitely not a woman.

But basically THIS SITE explains the disease. I have rashes/lesions/inflammations...whatever you want to call them, on my head. One under my right eye (somewhat faded) and then one encircling each ear. After reading the description provided by the site I posted, you should know that this disease has the possibility of causing hair loss...well, unfortunately for me, not only did I get the disease but I am now suffering from the hair loss.

Most people with this disease are indeed women and are in their 30s-40s....So it's not AS big of a deal I assume. But this should be the prime time of my life. I am in college, and already going through a tough time with being gay, and now I need to add this on to it! And we all know how people tend to judge a book by it's cover...no need to hide it.

Well look at me! (I will attach pictures below) This lupus is not gonna score me any points in the dating book...I feel really shallow talking about this like that.