1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to friends

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by bingbong3000, Oct 14, 2016.

1. bingbong3000

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi guys, I'm a complete newbie here as I guess most people in this particular topic are.

I need some advice.

I am gay, but not out to anyone currently. The closest I ever got was writing out a message to my mum, but I couldn't get myself to press send. My family will all be super supportive as I already have several LGBT family members, but I'm worried about some of my friends. I can guarantee that the majority of them will be completely fine, but one of my closest friends poses an issue. We are really jokey-gay to each other (e.g calling each other daddy as a joke and stuff) but I'm worried that he's going to question my motives when I come out. I feel like he will think I actually do fancy him or mean the jokes I have with him even though I really don't have any interest in him as I know that it would ruin our friendship. So my question to you is how to come out in a way that keeps him as a friend and doesn't ruin our relationship?

(On the other hand, there is a part of me and several other people that think he may be gay too, but I don't want to jump to that conclusion if he isn't)

Thanks guys :slight_smile:

2. Quantumreality

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi bingbong3000,

Welcome to EC!:slight_smile:

First, you should only Come Out to someone when you are comfortable and ready to do so. Best friends and family can be the hardest because we value them, their support and their love, so we have the most to lose it they reject us. It sounds like you have no worries with your family, which is excellent!