1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'll Be Seeing You

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Numfarh, Apr 2, 2009.

1. Numfarh

Numfarh Guest

I am going to be away from EC for awhile. I don't know how long exactly, but I won't be back for at least a month. A series of events have occurred that have left me with no choice but to deal with some really important issues. I'm going to ramble on for a bit, so if you don't feel like reading the full thing, I'll include a short summary at the bottom for your abbreviated enjoyment.

I have been in a really bad place for the last few months. I'm not sure if it's depression or SAD or whatever, but I have essentially lost the drive that once fueled me. When I was in highschool, I was determined and hardworking. I always got my projects finished on time and I graduated with the top average in my class, claiming the highest grades in Social Studies, English, Physics, Chemistry and Biology. But things have changed for me now... I haven't been going to classes or reading my school material. I got subpar marks for my three midterms and now, I'm faced with the possibility of losing my scholarship. While I'm not in a bad money situation, I don't think I could handle the added stress of losing 5000$ of income a year. I have let myself down and while my parents will never admit it, I have clearly let them down as well.

How about friendships? I was never very popular, but when I moved across the country a year ago, I expected that I would soon find a niche of friends. I did find friends, but the niche never came. I feel awkward and out of place in queer groups, I'm too young in my improv groups, I'm not studious or outgoing enough to make friends in class. I don't have that place to belong. I missed the ticket when everyone else was forming friendships in freshman year.