Help coming out to parents

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Kenko, Apr 12, 2009.

1. Kenko

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    So I've basically been wanting to tell my parents for... ohhh...
    <<---- A couple years.

And I haven't been able muster up the courage, and its starting to drive me nuts.

I was planning on telling them after I graduated uni and had a job and was fully independent. Well... with the economy in the toilet I've yet been able to get a job. :rolleyes:.. Anyways, with a lot of extra time on my hands, I've been thinking about it a lot, and I want to tell then, though naturally I'm more than a little nervous.

Here's some of the issues I face:
    • I still have a hard time saying out loud "I am gay", even if there's no one around to hear it.
    • I know my mom should be fairly positive about it. There's a few gays & lesbians at her work and she never talks negatively about them.
    • I don't really know how my dad will respond. He occasionally pokes fun at any given minority, or anyone as a whole, but he's never said anything like "gays are evil and should burn in hell" or anything like that. So I don't really know.
    • I'm more than ready to tell my mom, but I know my dad would be hurt if I didn't tell him, and I don't want to leave my mom alone without someone to talk to it about.

I was thinking something along the lines of after dinner just kind of saying something along the lines of "Mom, dad: You know I love you, which is why this is hard to say: I am gay."

Any thoughts, words of encouragement? Anything?

2. Starshine16

Well I was in the exact same place as you are now a few months ago...

I think the first thing you should start vwith is standing in front of a mirror and saying out loud "I am gay." the more you say it the more comfortable you will be with not only saying it but knowing it.