1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Too scared to come out

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Justbeingrandom, Feb 9, 2017.

1. Justbeingrandom

Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Something like a year ago I came to accept the fact that I was attracted to women. I had been suspecting it for several years but last year was when I finally accepted it for myself. Ever since then I have been wanting to come out to my close family and friends, since I hated the feeling that I was constantly lying to them or hiding something from them (which I technically am in a way). The first time I tried to tell my mother I chickened out. And then that was followed by a string of “missed opportunities” to come out. I suspect this is because I have no self-confidence and automatically assume I will be hated or thrown aside if I told people the truth. This has gotten worse since I recently moved away from home and if I lose the friends I have here, then I will literally have no-one.
    I am really at a loss for what to do. I do want to come out since having to constantly police what I say and pretend to be someone I’m not is starting to get to me. It's led to me being constantly irritable and to shut myself away from people. I feel like the way things are I will never be able to come out because I just don’t know how to stop being terrified of losing the people that I care about.

2. bibi

I'm going through something similar <3 It's hard, because it never seems like the right time to tell anyone! I'm also about to move away from home to a new city and I want to be open about myself there but I need to tell my friends and family first. We can do it!

3. I'm gay

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi Justbeingrandom,