1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Describing that feeling as you're about to announce you're not straight...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by CharacterStudy, Mar 19, 2017.

1. CharacterStudy

Apologies if this is in the wrong place - please move if so.

As my name suggests, I'm a writer. I'm also not 100% straight though I'm in a hetero marriage so have generally lived as a straight woman. In my current MS I have a character who is bi but has managed to ignore that for years, and is finally coming out to the best friend.

I'm trying to pin down those feelings you have just before you say something you might regret (like, "Actually, I'm bi"), so I can get this accurately in my story. As I've only come out to 1 person, I only have imagination and 1 experience to draw on. I have almost said something to others, but have never quite managed, and I'm trying to capture that teetering feeling just before you speak.

- Burning face
    - Shaky
    - Sinking feeling in gut
    - Can't look at the other person
    - Feeling as though you're about to jump from one big rock to another, but not 100% you'll land safely.
    - A sort of teetering feeling

Can anyone help me here with experiences of how they felt in that exact moment?

Thanks very much for your help.

2. pasinhose

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone