1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My 29yo Best friends and a 17/18 year old

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by jangel, Apr 23, 2009.

1. jangel

Hi all I know I don't usually ask for advice but I am really torn here. I have been friends with this guy for over 14 years. We are both gay I am a social worker in a 5 year long committed relationship. he on the other hand bounces from boy to boy. When he was 22 I found out about him sleeping with a 16 year old boy. I flipped out and we didn't speak for a year. We got over that with him admitting he had made a serious mistake etc etc. Now 7 years later while at a BBQ with friends and other social workers I mentioned his name. A 17 year old (family member of a co-worker ) said oh I know him he was sleeping with one of my friends last year (from high school) she proceeded to accurately tell me details about my friend including who he lives with and everyone he has slept with in the past 3 years. She said "yeah but it was hush hush because he was underage". I was embarrassed beyond belief to have stated he was my friend and for this kid to have said this in front of my colleagues. I recalled him telling me he was dating a 20 year old by the same name around the same time ( even that I gave him heck for). I confronted him and he screamed and yelled until admitting the guy was really 18 at the time and not the 20 he told me. However the girl insists he was 17. I checked on the guy and the dates and it is really hard to figure out they both gave me different months so he was either late 17 or very newly 18. either way I can't help but be repulsed and hold great anger towards him. He may be right and thinks if he was 18 then I shouldn't be mad. But we want to be foster parents and I fear having him in our life may hinder that (he also has quite the arrest record). I really don't care if he was 17 or 18 it is still wrong in my eyes! And he lie