1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do I come out to peers and teachers?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by finnthefish, May 10, 2017.

1. finnthefish

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hello, hi. I'm currently a freshman in high school (I'm becoming a sophomore this year!). I'm a Transguy and I want to make that public.

But there are a lot of complications.

I already go by another name that's male but I want to change it to something else. Several of my peers know and call me my first male name and I'm too scared to ask if they can change it. Reason being, they had gotten annoyed when another trans guy changed his name to a another name. So that scares me. Also, I do not want them to think it's a phase and I'm just changing my name for fun.

Teachers. I have heard several stories of teachers making a big deal of calling people by their preferred name. I'm planning to do this the first day with my teachers but I don't know how. Would I give them a note? Email them? Just walk up to them and say it? I'd be scared out of my mind but I think I could mustard it up.

And lastly, I have a brother who goes to my high school. I have had times where I thought he heard my friend call me by my male name and he isn't too fond of Trans people. Love my brother to death but I don't think he'd accept me at the moment (maybe older? He may never speak to me again, which will be hard to live with). So I don't want another kid or teacher calling me my male name in front of him. Or my parents. They will flip (my mom has already).

Any help? Thank you!

2. quebec

Moderator Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people