1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Situation

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by annag423, May 13, 2017.

1. annag423

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi all,

I wanted to go into a little more detail on my own situation than I did in my intro post in hopes of getting a little advice or encouragement as I process all of this.

I'm a trans woman and a lesbian. I've known all my life, at least a little I guess, but I only really came to accept it a month or so ago. I am a pastor and I've spent the last year or so trying to make up for the negative ways the church as a whole as treated this community. In doing so I tried to reconcile what I had been taught by the church with what I was hearing from this community. That was a very long process, but long story short when I realized that gender being a spectrum, and something different than biology, made more sense than anything else I'd heard on the subject, I started to wonder just where on that spectrum I would be. This is the end result.

Anyways, no one in my life knows. I live in another country from the one I grew up in, a thousand miles away from my parents and the rest of my family. I'm married, have been for almost 6 years now, to a cis woman. Her family lives within a half mile of our place. This is the South and they are rather conservative not to mention nosy as hell. I wear my hair long and I almost always wear it up in a bun or with a claw clip. (I love getting it blown out, too! The salon is just about my favorite place on earth.) Last summer I had it braided (looked amazing!) and her family thought I was gay and tried to split us up over it.