1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I come out to my roommate?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by The Lone Duck, Jul 5, 2007.

1. The Lone Duck

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hello
    I am a female college student who will be starting my third year in the fall. This summer, after much reflection I have recognized that I am lesbian. So far I have told only my parents and my closest friend (who does not attend my college). I am looking for advice on whether, when, and how I ought to tell my roommate.
    Your initial response might be that I should do what makes me most comfortable. Yet I think that my roommate's feelings must be taken into account too. I am afraid that if I do not tell her and she finds out later, either from me or in another way, that she might feel I have been dishonest with her. Furthermore I think that she would be partly justified in feeling that way. The reason that roommates are of the same gender is to prevent there being any sexual element to their relationship. Therefore, it is part of the tacit understanding between roommates that neither thinks of the other in a sexual way. If there is a possibility of things being otherwise, it is dishonest not to disclose that fact. If my roommate feels that I have been dishonest with her she will not trust me and, consequently, it will be difficult for her to feel safe living with me. I do not want her to feel unsafe in her own room.
    My argument so far suggests that I should tell my roommate that I am lesbian. The fact that I am making this post, however, shows that I have misgivings. I don't feel emotionally ready to tell her now and I am not sure that I will by August or September. My questions are
    1) Do I have a responsibility to tell her?
    2) Do you have any suggestions of when and how it would be best to tell her? (supposing I do)