1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Middle Eastern culture and fear of coming out.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Rana, May 20, 2017.

1. Rana

Rana Guest

Hello all,

I was raised in the US, but my background is Middle Eastern (not even first generation because I wasn't born here, and my family is not "Americanized"...i.e. more traditional Middle Eastern which means super conservative).

For those of you who aren't familiar with Middle Eastern culture, their attitude towards homosexuality is one of absolute intolerance. Yes, intolerance exists everywhere but only fellow Middle Easterners know that their kind of intolerance is like exponentially worse.
    Families will try to "cure" you, others will ostracize the family for "raising" a gay person, and the repercussions and shame that is brought on the family as a whole are incredibly worse than what I see in conservative American families (though I'm not negating those are bad as well....just saying, take that times 100, and you have my situation).

Anyway, I'm curious to know if anyone who is Middle Eastern has come out to family. If so, how bad was it? What helped? What didn't? I'm so not ready to come out but to family but would really like to hear your stories. :help:

Thanks.

2. skittlz

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Idk about any people in real life, but I'm pretty sure Riyad's (he's a gay youtuber) supportive family has at least some Middle Eastern culture. Perhaps he made some videos about it.