1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I meet people?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by touchofgrey, May 26, 2009.

1. touchofgrey

I'm currently dealing with the fact that ... well.... I'm a women and think I definitely have some attraction for women. I don't know if I'm bisexual or gay or whatever.... I mean, I'm pretty new to this whole thing.

I'm in therapy (I've been dealing with depression/eating disorder) for several years but only recently are we discussing my sexuality and orientation...and the more we talk about it, the more I want to try something physical with a woman.

HOW!?

I'm home from college for three and a half months and I don't go out that often.... and I don't even know how on earth I would find a women interested in me. At school it's easier because there's a huge LGBQTA scene, which I think I'm going to take advantage of come fall. But I don't really want to wait that long.

What could I do?

2. AXavierB

I'm a guy and having similar problems meeting people, but mine stem more from the fact that I don't get out of the house much.

But everyone I've asked has said similar things; try going to a gay/straight alliance or meet people through referrals from friends.

3. Jim1454

If all else fails, you can try an online ad. Be brutally honest with what you're looking for. You might get a lot of crack pots, but you might also find someone that can totally relate to you and your situation. I made a new (gay) friend that way. It could work for you. Good luck.

4. acorn7

Well you could try going to gay/lesbian bar and look around. While it's probably not the best way to meet your soulmate, you might meet some nice people.

However, if you just want something physical and nothing emotional, I'd make sure the other person and you are both very aware that it's just physical. As in, make sure to not get hurt emotionally. I'd take things gradually.

5. Geist