1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First time going to Pride.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by SRSLYMARK, Jun 25, 2009.

1. SRSLYMARK

So I've been out for two years but this is my first year attending Pride. Chicago is having their parade/festival this Sunday. I'm going with a group of people who have been there before, a few girls my age, and one of the girls' older sister and her friends. It sounds like it's gonna be great, we're eating at a wonderful restaurant for lunch and are gonna shop up there and stuff afterwards, but I'm just wondering - should I be worried about anything going on at Pride? I've heard some gay male friends I have saying "It promotes promiscuity, all the other guys there will judge you, it's a bunch of sluts," etc. Is there any truth to that?

Is there anything I should bring or be prepared to have to pay for?

2. djt820

Expect lots of the flamboyant types.

3. Markio

I'm going to my first pride soon, too. As with any large public event, I'd just stay close to a friend, have your cell phone at all times, and watch out for pickpockets.

4. Greggers

Expect everything.

Literally.

You will see everything from half naked men (smokin' hot men btw) wearing rainbow spandex to straight pastors of local churchs to gay choirs to PFLAG to dykes on bikes to the quiet guy living down the street to the drag queens to the transgendered people to the gays who you cant tell are even gay to the lawyers, doctors, politicians, teachers and policemen who happen to also be LGBT.

Dont NOT expect something to be there.

5. riddlerno1

Im gong to my first pride in a couple of weeks and i was excited before but now i am getting slightly nervous. I am going with one of my straight mates who has decided to come!

6. Doreibo