1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Right Time?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by DJ Sweetz, Jul 16, 2007.

1. DJ Sweetz

This is my first time posting on this part of the forum and I need a little advice. I want to come out to my sister first, but my parents are fighting with each other and it's taking a toll on our family. Should I tell her now, or should I wait until my parents resolves things, then come out to her? BTW, my sister is 24.

2. dreamer

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    My advice is not to do anything rash. If an oportune moment arises then by all means seize it if you feel it's right. Make sure its what YOU want to do, and thay you are totally ready. Think about possible sinareo's that could occur. There may never be the 'right' time to tell them, you could make up excuse after excuse for years. However you are still fairly young so you have a little more time. It totally depends on you.

I realise that was a bit ambiguous, sorry.

3. EthanS

EthanS Guest

I think u shud w8 till ya parents calm down, unless ur sis is a good sis, da ones dat r there for ye

4. 24601

You should come out to your sister when you feel ready. Like dreamer said, if an opportunity arises and you feel ready, then by all means tell her. But, at the moment, I'd hold back a bit until things settle down. You don't want to overload anyone, including yourself.

If your sister is not involved in the fighting, and has moved away, then you can go for it whenever you're ready. If she is involved somewhat, then hold back. That's what I say, anyway.

You have a lot of time, no need to rush things.

5. DJ Sweetz

She still lives with us and the fight is just between our parents. It's just that the fight is so bad, my mom is living at her friend's house. Should I still tell her?

6. dreamer

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people