1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help... please

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Ontarioboy187, Jun 29, 2009.

1. Ontarioboy187

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi, I am new at this and am really nervous about it.
    Well my problem is my mom, before i came out to her we were really close, we would go to the movies and just hang watcin t.v. or movies. But ever since i came out to her she is so distant with me every time i do anything rong she freaks and tells me how she is moving cause she can't deal with it anymore. She always gets mad that i don't want her to tell any of her friends or my brothers. I am just so lost, she tells me she has no problem with it but but the way she acts and stuff she says totally contradict this. Like i will go to give her a hug and she says "I thought u only liked touching boys". I need someone to talk to and give me advice.

2. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi,

Welcome to EC. You'll find wonderful support and great advice here.

First off, I'm sorry to hear about what you're experiencing. It must have been hard enough to tell her, and then to have her respond the way she did must be that much more difficult for you, because, since you're not out to anyone else, you *need* her support.

How long has it been since you told her? If it's less than several months, she is still adjusting to it. That doesn't make it right that she's acting the way she is, but it sounds like it was a shock to her and it also sounds like somehow she feels guilty or that she's to "blame" for the way you are.