1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clingy Friend Problem (LONG)

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Markio, Jul 6, 2009.

1. Markio

Okay, this friend of mine is getting out of hand, and it's mostly my fault.

"Michelle" and I have been friends since I began college last year. I was a freshman, she was a junior. I met her after an LGBT meeting where I admitted jokingly (but truthfully) that I didn't have any friends yet. She promptly invited me to have lunch with her and her friends the next day. We hit it off, it seemed, and became friends. However, over time I find myself feeling stressed out or nervous when I hang out with her. Her are some examples.

-First, she has a merciless sense of humor. She makes jokes at my expense, some of which actually hurt, but I usually don't admit that I have a problem. If I speak up, she assures me she's joking, which she is, but I just don't have the same sense of humor. After SF Pride when we were loading the car, I asked if they needed any help, and she was the one who said, "Just because you're a white male, you think you can do anything!". That really bothered me, but I didn't say anything.

-Second, she's "needy", as she calls it. Dependent, really. We told each other our deep secrets after her best friend for life, another gay guy, went abroad for a semester. Like I said, I don't have any other close friends, so it became routine for me to hang out with her and eat lunch with her every day. The problem with this is, I don't get to hang out with other people or make other friends when I'm with her. And when I want to be alone and she wants to hang out, I hang out with her despite the fact that I want to be alone.