1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Friend Request!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Astaroth, Aug 1, 2009.

1. Astaroth

So, I was checking my Facebook just a few minutes ago and spotted a new friend request. It was from my Aunt Debby who lives in Spokane, WA. Right now, I'm not technically "out" to my extended family because I never considered it important to tell them since I see them like twice a year, if that.

However, it seems that this choice is being set in my lap anyways. The advice I need is whether or not to add her because I'm quite out on Facebook (my status is Interested In: Men and like half my groups are very gay-centric). I'm sure she'll notice something eventually. I have no speech filter when I update my statuses either, so I'm sure I'll say something gayish sooner or later. Probably much sooner.

So... if I add her, I'm effectively out to the rest of my family. I'm sure it will spread. Which is essentially 6 grandparents, four families on my dad's side, three families on my mom's side, and countless cousins. I'm kind of nervous because there are -a lot- of people in those groups who are very homophobic and extremely right-wing. Heck, her religious views are simply "Praise Jesus!" But at the same time, I can't imagine myself staying closeted to extended family forever either.

I would feel like a total douche not adding my own relative as a friend. But I'm also not going to suddenly pull a coverup and remove all the groups and hints of who I am. I guess what I'm worried about is that once it gets out... the facade really is over. I don't see 1/2 my relatives wanting to see me anytime soon thereafter, which is saddening.

So, what do you think? Add? Ignore?

2. olides84

Well, I'm gonna give you a selfish answer, so take it for what it is.