1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A tough decision at work...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by CrimsonThunder, Jul 28, 2007.

1. CrimsonThunder

Tonight at work one of my great work buddies ("John") asked me if he could steal a burger for another person that works there ("Ben"). However this other person I hate. (He often calls me gay and pisses me off constantly).

Now I'm in a tough spot, I'm a manager there and this could get me in a huge amount of trouble (most possibly fired) if I do not tell my boss. But I don't want to get John fired. However getting Ben fired would be great.

Should I tell my boss? The thing is John could go around telling people "He wouldn't let me steal a burger for him" and that could easily float around and go to a person that would tell my boss and then, BAM! I'm fired.

I've thought that I could tell my boss "Ben asked John to steal him a burger and then John told me about it". Or something like that to get him out of trouble but still get Ben fired.

I'm stressing. >.<"

*Names have been changed. :wink:

2. beckyg

beckyg Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Tom,

It is unprofessional to get somebody fired because you dislike them. John's behavior is just as bad as Ben's. I would simply tell John NO. If he keeps after you then you may have no other choice than to tell the boss.

3. wtinal

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Perhaps you could tell the boss the behavior of both of them and just say you have dealth with it, so John does not get fired (although I personally believe theft from your place of employment deserves firing).

4. Psych!

Psych! Guest

Becky, again, is right. :thumbsup:

You can't protect John just cause you like him. Just don't allow anything unjust and if it does happen, tell your boss.

5. George1

George1 Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone