1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Want to Quit My Job- Teacher

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by drake86, Sep 9, 2009.

1. drake86

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Are there any teachers out there? I am a first year teacher teaching in a pretty low income area. The students have lived pretty hard lives and reflect that at school. They are smart kids but just very different than what I am used to. I never though being a first year teacher would be this hard. I am part of a program that places you in an impoverished region to teach for two years. The organization is pretty hard to get into and definitely opens doors once the two years are over. I find myself dreading work every night and every morning. I know I am not going to stay in education and often wonder if I should just throw in the towel. I moved to a city and left my family and close friends to be involved in this organization. I eventually want to go to law school and this experience will likely help. I am not really happy and can figure out if I will regret quiting. AHHHH. On top of this I still have not come out to my parents despite writting them a letter about 2 weeks ago. I think one of the reasons that I may be upset is that I havent come out and continue to worry about it. At the same time though this new job is stressful enough and I dont know if coming out to my parents will add an unmanagable amount of stress to my life... so confused and exhausted.

2. Shyvin

You really need to get to the root of your stress. I am also in the closet and have also written a "letter" but that has led to no avail. *sigh* I know how that goes. Are you feeling guilty about up and leaving your family and friends? Do you think this is adding on to your miserable state?