1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Does It Mean to be Openly Gay?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by konfused612, Sep 12, 2009.

1. konfused612

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    What does it mean to be openly gay?

Here are my thoughts ...

My senior year in college was when I started to come out. A few close friends got the long story, but since being a student didn't leave me with a ton of free time I shortened it up to a quick and sweet statement (and would talk more about it if the conversation went that way). Doing this I was able to tell several people. I figured once I told a bunch of people, the word would spread and I'd be openly out. However, only a few people heard by word of mouth. I eventually realized that being openly out was more about being able to be open about it. I adopted this philosophy. It only came up a few times, but when it did I was able to talk about it.

I graduated in May of 2008. I wasn't exactly sure what I wanted to do and frankly needed a break. I was able to find a job tutoring high schoolers at the high school I attended. It's been really nice to work several of my former teachers. I'm now starting my second year. The problem I've run into is that it never comes up. No one in the department has asked me anything related to my sexuality (i.e. do you have a girlfriend?) or really given me an opening to say something. So now it's starting to feel like I'm in the closet again.

I'm starting to revamp my philosophy on what it means to be openly out. While I certainly feel that being open is part of it, I don't think that's all. I'm starting to think while I should be able to talk about it if it comes up, I may need to make it come up.

Anyway, this has been something I've thought about quite a bit the past two years. If anyone else has thoughts on what it means to be openly gay, I'd appreciate hearing them.

2. 71390S

71390S Guest