1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Post-Bachelor's Education

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Swamp56, Sep 21, 2009.

1. Swamp56

Swamp56 Guest

I'm a freshman pursuing my B.A. in Psychology at the moment. I am enrolled in the pre-medicine program at my university and have had a goal to get into medical school for a long time now. I have no doubts of my cognitive ability to achieve this, but there is something else lingering in the way.

What is it? Mental illness. You see, what makes getting a doctorate of medicine so hard is the tremendous amount of work required not not only get into the medical school, but also the grueling work you must apply yourself with during the schooling process. I am seriously mentally ill, and I'm starting to question my ability to handle the stress that is associated with the successful and total completion of the program.

As much as this breaks my heart, I'm trying to think rationally here (a trait that does not come naturally to me as you all know w/o medicine). I am trying to look at the alternatives at the moment. There is in no way in hell that I'm not doing a doctorate program, it's just what.

So far I, besides the doctor of medicine, I seem interested in a doctorate of philosophy (ph.D.) in either clinical psychology or neuropsychology. I also have looked at the doctorate of psychology in clinical care (Psy.D.).

Some of you may say, "Chris, you're looking too far into the future." I'm not. If I want to seriously consider medical school, I must start classes next semester that are pre-reqs for the program and for medical schools in general (general, inorganic, organic chemistry - biology - physics - calculus).