1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

School stuff. Not that important but it's bothering me.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Eccentric, Sep 26, 2009.

1. Eccentric

It took me a while to post this because I was going through phases of "Oh, of course you should get out! Isn't it obvious? You don't need to post a thread, you already know what to do!" and "That's ridiculous! Don't get out! Isn't it obvious? You don't need to post a thread, you already know what to do!"

I'm a sophomore in high school. Last year me and a couple other freshmen in my english class, we did UIL literary criticism (academic contest) with our english teacher. She was also in charge of the school's NEHS club (National English Honor Society). We were sort of halfway part of the club but not officially. I mean, we went to only one of the meetings and we went on a field trip with the NEHS.

And now this year I'm in the NEHS (for reals) with the other freshmen who did UIL with me plus all the upperclassmen. It's still the beginning of the year, so we haven't paid dues or done induction or anything yet. But so far I am not enjoying it. We've been talking about doing fundraisers, poetry slams, interviewing people to write a book, going to a poetry festival, community service hours, $45 dollars in dues, none of this interests me. I don't really want to do any of this. I haven't really been looking forward to the meetings. But my friends (and old teacher) would NEVER let me get out. I mean, they wouldn't drag me with them, but they'd be all, "Andy! You can't quit! You just can't. It just isn't an option."

I know that I should be getting into more clubs and meeting new people, especially because I'm pretty shy and leaning towards the antisocial side and so many of my friends I don't have classes with anymore. I just don't know how to deal with this.

2. Mirko

Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He