1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Roommates

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by AtomicCafe, Oct 14, 2009.

1. AtomicCafe

Hey all,

I'm a freshman in college. When I moved into the dorm, I roomed with a girl I had met and let her know I'm gay to avoid any future awkwardness. She was perfectly fine with it, but her parents were not and made her move out. Still a bit depressed and offended about that, but that's life!

Anyway, I'm getting my new roommate sometime this week. We've never met, and all I know is her name and what she looks like. Now I'm lost as to what to do. I have a wall of all of my gay posters, I wear gay pride buttons and shirts, and I'm very openly gay. This girl may move in during the middle of the day when I'm not in the room, and I'm not sure if I should take down my flamboyantly gay posters for this week and sort of slowly give her the idea, or just leave it be and let her find out quickly, or whatever else. (Also note that room changes are not allowed for roommate disagreements, so if she's a homophobe, we're stuck together.)

I just want to be nice about it and test her out since this is the exact reason I refused to have a random roommate assignment. If I'm paying for a room, I don't want to share it with someone who I make uncomfortable and who hates me. What should I do?

2. Jim1454

I'd say leave your room as it is. The fact that you want to be considerate suggests that you're not an 'in your face' kind of person. The last room mate was fine with it - it was her parents that had a problem. To be honest, your first room mate was a wimp for giving in to her parents.

Be yourself. It's always the best approach. Good luck!

3. stratavos

oakville(college) and oshawa(hometown) ont, Canada
    well, she has to tolerate you, so it wouldn't make too much difference >.>

if I had any major projects or homework to do, I wouldn't take the stuff down.