1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out at work!?!?!?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by guacj, Oct 24, 2009.

1. guacj

Ok so I work at a large retail store. I am in a relationship with a girl, but it is one that will soon end, because I have come to terms with accepting myself as gay. I am out to my girlfriend as bi, but I digress.

I am fairly new at my job, and whenever I mention my girlfriend I usually just refer to her as a friend. Well someone asked me today if I have a girlfriend, and I said yes...with very little enthusiasm. Well later on in conversation we were talking about something "girly" and I mentioned something about knowing what they were talking about, and one of them replied "oh so you swing that way". Now I know the way she said it was jokingly, but I think that she might have been kind of serious and then she remembered that earlier in the day I had confessed to having a girlfriend. I think that she and one of the gay guys might suspect that I am at least bi, because I have talked about going out to the gay clubs with friends. Something else that really caught me off guard is during another conversation the one gay guy got brought up and she was like you know hes gay dont you and I was like yah I kind of figured. Then she was like and your his type. This is what really caught me off guard.

I dont know what to do. I think that if someone asks I will tell them that I am bi, but should I even do that. I just really dont know what to do. I am only out to a handful of my very close friends. I mean would not tell them that I am gay, until I came out to my girlfriend. Would it be best for me to just stay in the closet at work completely? Any advice would be great!

2. Lexington

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone