1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Topic: Professionals Coming Out

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by rawpunkgirl, Oct 30, 2009.

1. rawpunkgirl

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    The situation is that I'm moving to a new city for a job. I need to get a roommate, but my roommate will most likely be someone that is at my company for logistically reasons. Thing is, I feel like I should come out to my roommate before agreeing to live together? Right?

Thing is, Idk how to bring up my sexual orientation to potential roommates? I really want to avoid a situation where my roommate late finds out my sexual orientation and then feels uncomfortable (and then moves out on me).....

2. AtomicCafe

I have plenty of experience with coming out to roommates! Been through four in college so far, and I'm a freshman. Perhaps not a good sign....

When I told the first girl I almost roomed with a few months before we agreed to room together, she immediately backed out because I was gay. Glad to have avoided that one before it happened. I let the second know about a month before the deadline to choose someone, and she was perfectly fine with it and thanked me for telling her beforehand. (Ended up moving out because her parents weren't at all -- something you probably won't run into!) Third found out secondhand through some posters on my wall (I didn't even know her name since it was a random pairing, and she just entered the room before moving in). She left immediately and left me some hate mail. Now the fourth couldn't back out, and I let her know the day before she moved in, when I met her. (We don't get contact information beforehand.) She's incredibly hateful at the whole situation and gives me daily lectures on how she wants to move out and hopes I leave soon.