1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuck in a Rut

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by lorusanto, Nov 4, 2009.

1. lorusanto

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I can't really find a single problem in my situation so I'll present it as life has to me (except with more precision and cohesion:slight_smile:).
    I’m a freshman in college attending one of the most gay-rich universities in the country. My problem is that I still don’t have any gay friends! I thought it would be relatively easy but all my friends are straight. I think the problem is two part: I’m sort of in the closet and I’m shy. I am just about ready to start coming out but I don’t know where. I also decided to honestly say my orientation if asked…but no one asks. I don’t dress stereotypically gay, you can’t tell from my voice, and I do all my ogling coyly. I’ve decided I’ll go to the LGBT club this week in an attempt to get gay friends. It really sucks that I don’t dorm because I miss out on all those opportunities to meet awesome (gay) people. I’m also trying to improve my flirting because it would be nice to have a boyfriend for once. I just got desperate because it seems paradoxical that I should have no gay friends in a place where I can look across the street and see three gay guys. I’ll just list some questions I have below so it’s in a clearer form.
    How do you build confidence or overcome your shyness?
    How do I let guys know I’m gay without waving a rainbow flag with limp wrists while lisping?
    How do I effectively flirt? And more importantly, how do I maintain non-aggressive looking eye contact?
    Thanks for reading guys! I know I’m a sad mess!:lol:

2. Jim1454

Hey there. You're not a sad mess. You're exactly the same as most of us are.