1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Attempting to No Longer be a Future Hobo.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by GhostDog, Jan 13, 2010.

1. GhostDog

So. I need a job. I both need money and I need my parents off my back. Mostly the latter, oh god guilt trips.

The thing is, up until recently? I haven't had the financial need to have a job. I've been a full-time college student, focusing on schoolwork, and getting pretty good grades. I have had precisely one summer job back in 2005 and I doubt they remember me, and I can't even remember my supervisor's last name. He was... Robert something.

For the kinds of jobs I'm looking at, I know they wouldn't care if I was a 17-year-old coming in off the street who'd never had a job before. But I'm a 22-year-old who frankly should have been working since she was 18, but hasn't needed to and therefore... hasn't. I figure that might look suspicious? Like I lack drive, even though I'm involved with three student organizations now and I've got a cumulative GPA of 3.76. >:[ I am not looking to advance to the upper echelons of retail management, I just need something to help pay for classes and canvas, until I get my bachelors degrees in a year and a half and scram.

Should I even mention the summer job? Is it fishier to list no job at all, or a job I had for maybe two months, five years ago, and can't remember the relevant names or phone numbers?

And oh god, I am terrible at interviewing. I got turned down for a pizza place that was hiring high school students. I get nervous and run out of things to say, and when places like grocery stores ask you, "Do you have any questions?" I have no damn idea what to say. "What kinds of things might I be doing outside the job description?" "How do you scan a melon, anyway?" "How do poptarts work?" "WHAT DO YOU WANT FROM MEEEEEE?!" I mean, augh, I am terrible.