1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Long Distance Relationships

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by RuralMedAU, Jan 18, 2010.

1. RuralMedAU

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I need some advice from those that have done these. I finally brought up the elephant in the room with this guy that I have been talking for a few months. We both agree that we really like each other and that we connect on a deep level. He did express some concerns about how to do the long distance thing as well as concern that I will be starting medical school in the summer. Both are legitimate concerns. I am very much willing to do everything in my power to make it work with him. We agreed to kick around the idea with ourselves over the next two weeks and we are gonna have another date then. I need some advice

2. xequar

It's doable, but it sucks. My BF's from Chicago, and I live in Metro Detroit. He still works in Chicago during the week, too (he did become a Michigan resident though). Basically, talk to each other a lot. Send texts and stuff during the day. Also, we see each other every weekend, which is of critical importance. Now that he's legally a Michigan resident and doesn't have his own place in Chicago anymore, he comes here (home) every weekend, which means a 4-5 hour commute here and a 4-5 hour commute back every weekend.

Basically, it's doable, but it sucks, like I said. Talk often, and see each other often. And make sure you have a BIG budget for gas.

3. RuralMedAU

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    My biggest concern is that being in medical school I will not be able to go to him every weekend or every other weekend but if we saw each other every other weekend and we did it on a roatating basis where I went to him and he came to see me then I think that would work.

I think we owe it to each other to at least try and see if it will work otherwise we will never know.

4. Davo

Gender Pronoun: