1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to my father -- Advice appreciated

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by TheMusicMan, Aug 23, 2007.

1. TheMusicMan

TheMusicMan Guest

Hello, everyone. I'm new here and found this website somehow while searching for information on coming out. Anyway, here's a little about my background.

I'm 19. I'm a sophomore at college right now and am also gay. I've told most of my friends (though not every last one of them), but no family so far. Firstly, I should point out that I don't plan right now on ever telling my mother, as she's (brace yourselves) a Fundamentalist Christian. Fortunately, my parents have been divorced since I was very young and I haven't lived with her for years. We haven't even talked for several months, even. It's not that we don't get along, it's just that we slowly, for some unspoken reason, haven't kept in touch.

Anyway, that's not what this is about. Back to the subject. I've got issues with telling people I'm gay in the first place, so even considering telling my dad spooks the daylights out of me. I suppose the reason I have a hard time telling people right out is that I don't want to portray myself as a sexually active person -- people think homosexual and often can't help but dwell on the "sexual" suffix, I've noticed. I've never been with anyone -- and quite frankly, I don't know if I would be prepared to take on any kind of relationship, let alone anything dealing with sex. So, as a result, I've put telling my dad onto the backburner for a few years now.