1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to Frat Bros...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by drake86, Jan 27, 2010.

1. drake86

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Has anyone been in a fraternity and came out to the brothers in that fraternity. I have come out to a bunch of people but for some reason have not told anyone from college yet, I graduated last May. I was president of my fraternity and I think this is going to be a totall shock.

2. Lexington

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Now that you've graduated, I don't see any big deal, since nothing can come of it. You don't even have to "come out" to them in so many words. Feel free to swap your facebook status, or let them know about the nice guy you've been dating.

Lex

3. Johnnieguy

Well, my college didn't have fraternities, but it was an all-male school (technically). We also had an all-female school 6 miles away..All of our classes were co-ed, but the living stituations were all with the same sex, all 4 years, unless you moved off campus..So it was kind of like one giant fraternity. Anyway, I am rambling.

We had numerous discussions in our GLBT club about the campus atmosphere. To our shock, we realized that there were many, many more openly gay men in college than openly gay women..And women are supposed to be more accepting and into sharing their feelings with each other, right?

It may not be as much of a shock as you think it is going to be. Every single guy (roommates, mainly) I told post-graduation said "yeah, I pretty much knew, but I didn't think it was any of my business and I didn't want to put pressure on by confronting you. I hope I never said anything to offend you."