1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mother is highly disappointed in me

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by mabindaby, Feb 27, 2010.

1. mabindaby

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hello EC,

I'm new here and I'd really appreciate some advice on how to deal with my mom's attitude towards my sexuality. My mom worked very hard to come to the US from China and has always pushed me to excel in everything I do. So far, I think she's pleased. I'm academically sound, I'm a pianist and I have a black belt in Taekwondo :slight_smile:.

Recently, within this last year, I told her that I'm a lesbian. We have a great relationship and I've always talked to her about everything and it seemed that we agree on most issues (gay rights, abortion etc). I thought she would be accepting but to my surprise, she was very upset and angry with me. According to her, this 'deviation' stems from my lack of self esteem, my dislike of makeup, handbags, and other 'girly things', and my inability to talk to guys. The last reason is truly bizarre because all of my closests friends are male. It's when talking to girls that I get all awkward and nervous! I don't know where she gets that....

Well, she has told me to 'keep an open mind' when it comes to dating and has made it known that she thinks I'm wrong and I don't actually like girls. Whenever I discuss any school matters, related or not, she reminds me not to 'push my "lesbian" feelings onto my friends' (lolwat?) and that when I get to college, I need to date at least 25 guys before I decide who I prefer.