1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning on coming our soon!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by EWU2012, Mar 11, 2010.

1. EWU2012

So I am a sophomore in college and lately I have been contemplating coming out to family and friends. In a week I will be going home for spring break and plan on telling my parents and sibilings but not sure how to really do it. Once I come out to them then I think I will tell friends. I want my family to know first so that they don't some how findout by word of mouth. I honestly don't think they have a clue but I have never had a girlfriend and never get into the relationship talks with them because my family just really isn't really close.

2. egnvectr

egnvectr Guest

i haven't done that so won't advise on how but, good luck!!

3. EWU2012

Dangit! I posted this too soon and tried to add more but it ended up being too late so I couldnt update it. Now i lost all the stuff I wrote. I will rewrite it and post it in a few. :/

4. EWU2012

Okay so the reason I want to come out over break is because right after spring break I want to run for the Diversity Outreach position on the associated student government of my college. I already know all the people that are a part of the student govt. and they all are really cool. I really want to run for this position to build up my confidence and help others but I know that in order for this to happen I really need to come out and be true to myself. I know that the timeline is really small but I just really feel like it is the right time. I am just nervous on how people will react. I know a few people will be 100% accepting because they have a lot of gay friends but it’s still hard trying to get the words out that “I’m gay”.