1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Paxil and Social Anxiety

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by LNahid2000, Mar 20, 2010.

1. LNahid2000

LNahid2000 Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I've been seeing a counselor for Social Anxiety Disorder for the last few months, and 2 months ago she advised that I go see a doctor to see if I could get some medication for anxiety. I was very anxious/avoidant about seeing the doctor but finally did it a month ago. She prescribed me Paxil but I'm still too scared to use the drug.

I'm really worried about the side effects and I'm not sure how it would help me. I'll also have to pay around $1 per pill since I don't have insurance, and I'm a student so I don't have much money. But at the same time I feel like I'm not getting any better, and I can't stand spending every weekend alone because I'm too anxious to hang out with my roommates, and too anxious to make new friends. I don't really know what to do. Anyone have any experience with Paxil or social anxiety?

2. Spectre

Hi LNahid2000, (*hug*)

Sorry to hear you're having some trouble with social anxiety.

You said you were going to counseling... has it been helping at all?
    And if you don't mind my asking, what is it specifically that makes you anxious about social situations?
    Do your roommates or friends know about it?

Personally, I think antidepressants are overprescribed and their side effects underreported. We don't even know the exact mechanisms by which they work. And sometimes side effects (particularly sexual) can be more devastating than the original condition the drugs were prescribed for. Some may even persist after the drug is stopped. That being said, sometimes the rewards outweigh the risks, especially in cases of depression.

3. Mugwump