1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving on with my life....

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by travelinsoul21, Apr 25, 2010.

1. Since I've started coming out and mainly since I've come out to my mom, I've begin to notice that she is quite dependent on me, mainly emotionally, but she has limited mobility and needs assistance physically as well..... I am just starting college this fall and I've been living at home since I graduated high school 3 years ago. How can I prepare my mom for the fact that in a year or two, I'll be likely transferring to another school somewhere else, and it's not likely that she is coming with me. I am wanting to move out on my own and live my life, but I don't want to leave her high and dry, so to speak....??

2. Filip

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Well, the proof of the pudding is in the eating. So the real test will be when you actually move away.
    However, there are some things that you can do to lessen the shock.

First of all: if you’re making plans, discuss them with your mom. Maybe occasionally pose a hypothetical question about something that you might have to learn when living by yourself in college. This will have the dual effect of making the thought more real in her head, and actually getting her input on how to handle things living alone. Also, she might feel that by giving advice, she has a grip on the situation.

If you go there, and it’s possible to have her over, even for a short visit, then do so! If she sees where and how you’re living firsthand, she’s dealing less with this hypothetical place out of her imagination, and she can picture you in your real environment.