1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Flying...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Revan, May 17, 2010.

1. Revan

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey everyone,
    I know that this isn't about coming out but I'm still sorta totally petrified of flying these days. I've been flying since 2001, at least twice a year, and yet I still get scared of crashes or other things....I know people say it's the safest but I'm just always having such difficulty. Plus this week I'm traveling with just my sister and her 7 month old son, and so my parents aren't going to be there this time, I'm going to be on a flight without my parents for the first time and I'm just petrified plain and simple. It's silly especially since say I did make it in Hollywood, I'd be flying a lot for different films and such. Is there any way I can just try and get rid of this fear? I mean I don't want to fully let go of it but I want to not be so paranoid.....

2. Sylver

Ok, I may be more qualified to empathize with you on this topic than any other topic ever discussed on EC... :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: I have been petrified of flying since day one on earth. And yet because of my work I fly probably 20-30 times each year. So I had to learn coping skills or get another job...

From my own experience there is no one single "silver bullet", so I'll offer a mix of things that have worked for me. I guess the good news is that while I wouldn't call myself totally over my fear of flying and I still get nervous sometimes, I am able to manage this fear so that I can still do a lot of flying.