1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Careers

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Notreallysure, May 24, 2010.

1. Notreallysure

I graduated college last week, and I have a few questions for older viewers that may be able to assist me. I live in the South, and I'm interested in law. I have been rejected from all of my schools, so I need an alternative. Do any of you know about career options (other than law) that would be similar. Maybe some sort of politics? I don't really know what to do and thought I'd ask.

2. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I've heard from everyone who applied to graduate school this year, and from several people who work in admissions, that this year was insane in terms of applicants. I know of several schools that had as much as a 700% increase in applicants (a school that normally gets about 150 applicants got over 1000). A lot of people that would have gotten in any other year did not, simply because of the sheer number of applicants.

So first off, I wouldn't for a moment assume that you can't get into law school if you're still interested in that field. One possibilty might be to get your certification as a paralegal and then reapply to law school in a year or two, working at a law firm as a paralegal in the meantime. (This might also give you the opportunity to befriend someone well-connected at a school you'd like to attend.)

What aspect of law is it that interests you? There is such variety to the practice of law that it's difficult to say what a good alternative would be without knowing your specific area of interest.

3. 4 seat