1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out and issues attached

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by liteyney, Jul 20, 2010.

1. liteyney

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I am a 20 year old student trying to find a way to come out to my parents and my friends. I am not a very confident person, and the last two years have been marred by significant emotional issues that have ruined friendships and stunted me from meeting new people and emotionally maturing, I've also developed social anxiety issues, and I'm still an incredibly self-conscious person. Amongst all this, I really want to come out, because I believe that by being completely honest to my friends and family, I can overcome much of the shame and guilt I've internalized for so long.

I feel comfortable telling my friends and my peers, so my biggest issue is with my parents. I used to care tremendously what my parents thought of me (and even their friends and my extended relatives). I know that it will come as a shock to my mom, but not a tremendous one. The reaction I fear is my dad's. I have a good relationship with my parents, despite my dishonesty with them, I have a very privileged lifestyle and they have given me a lot of opportunities I truly am grateful for (I study at an expensive university, I am well traveled, they give me a very generous allowance).

I have no money of my own at the moment, and my biggest concern about coming out to them is that my father would cut me off completely (as absurd and ridiculous as it all sounds). My father is an emotionally insecure man, socially conservative, and occasionally homophobic, and I'm not sure what he's capable of. I don't know what to do, or how far in advance I should plan this, because I want to be honest with them and myself, but I can't fathom having all my money cut off, and worst of all, putting my education in danger. Ugh, advice anyone?

2. Beachboi92