1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Openly Pledging a Fraternity

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by foofighter, Aug 25, 2010.

1. foofighter

I'm a freshman and I'm strongly considering joining a fraternity at my university. It's definitely more chill than others, but it still is a real frat, you know, with a bunch of straight guys.

I always wanted to join one and then a few months ago when I admitted to myself that I was gay I decided I wasn't going to rush.

I decided to go out and to rush just to meet some people and I had a really good time. Most of the brothers seem really cool. One in particular said that they are different from the others in that the others are looking for a particular mold of a brother and they aren't. They've already given me a bid and they are expecting an answer soon. Only thing is... I'm wondering if I should voice my concern to one of the guys beforehand or just join and come out later.

They seem to really want me to pledge but they know I'm hesitant. They keep asking "what's holding me back?"

Any advice on what would be better? Being open at first or come out later? I don't want them to judge me and never get to know me, but I don't want to be stuck in the closet.

2. FreeSoul12

Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I think that this is like the classic case of being accepted. If you do come out before, and they don't accept you, then they're jerks. If they do accept you, then that's great and you can be happy.

If you decide to wait until you're accepted, and then come out, then you may face a harsher rejection than if you came out before joining. On the other hand, you may still be included if you come out if the fraternity is nice.

I think you should come out before, and if you don't get accepted because you're gay, then those guys are jerks like I said before.