1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out To a Team

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by konfused612, Sep 27, 2007.

1. konfused612

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I've started the coming out process, and at the moment I've told a grand total of 6 people in person. They've all been very supportive, and it's been amazing. Anyway, at this point in time I'm ready to publicly come out.

I'm a college student. I am also a member of the Ultimate Frisbee team here, and quite a few of my friends are on the team. I would really like to come out to the team as a whole. I'm just not yet sure how.

Has anyone out there come out to a team? Or does anyone have any thoughts on how to do this? Or does anyone have recommendations in general about publicly coming out?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

2. Louise

Sorry, can't really help but I'm with you anyway.

One idea, maybe if some of your friends who already know are with you, you might feel less vunerable?

Good luck:thumbsup:

3. Ilayis

Ilayis Guest

all I know is that one guy that was on our football team came out and the majority of the team wanted him off so he was removed from the team.It could always be different for you,just watch yourself!

4. beckyg

beckyg Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    That is sad! If I was his mother I would have pitched a fit, but you know me. :icon_bigg

5. beckyg

beckyg Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight

I would suggest reading some books written by gay athletes. Learn from their experiences and then maybe you can make a more informed decision on whether this is the right thing to do. Here is what I came up with:

http://www.outsports.com/entertainment/booksnf.htm

6. katmando

In all honesty I think it depends on what sport you play. I think you would be fine telling the people that you play frisbee with.