1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it them, or is it me?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by PenAndInk, Oct 3, 2010.

1. PenAndInk

So, I've never dated before (and I mean NEVER), until this year. I'm an undergraduate sophmore. This year I've gone on one or two dates with a couple of girls. They become attached so fast! Both of the girls I've just gone to dinner with and talked to a bit immediately latch on and expect something much more.

My opinion, is that you should really get to know someone before going into a relationship with them, but no one else seems to feel that way. As a result, I've had to sit down and explain to each them that I cannot and am not ready to be in a relationship with someone I met 2 weeks ago. I feel like maybe I'm the one with the warped perspective on things, though I don't intend to change what I'm looking for, since I think dating is all about doing what makes you happy and what you're comfortable doing.

I'm finding it incredibly frustrating. If dating in general is going to keep resulting in these awkward situations of overly attached acquaintances, then I really don't know if I'm ready to date at all. I'm discovering that I still have a lot of personal sorting out to do apparently, and I'm trying to build up the courage to make my first Psychological Services appointment, so maybe dating isn't for me right now, or I just haven't met someone who has the same views on the subject as myself.

I was just wondering if my opinion is in the minority on this subject, or if my expectations are on the unrealistic side...

2. Lexington

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Q: What does a lesbian bring on the second date?
    A: A U-Haul.

Yeah, it's a joke built on a stereotype, but like most stereotypes, there's some truth in there somewhere.