1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Age Issues & Letting down gently

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Tezcatlipoca, Oct 4, 2010.

1. Tezcatlipoca

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Okay, so first off I've been talking to this amazing guy for about two months now. We met online, and mostly communicated through email, im, and text up until yesterday. He was funny, smart, quick-witted and I found myself liking him more and more. So after not accepting a couple requests to hang out, I finally gave in and hung out with him yesterday. Cuter in person, and we have so much in common it's amazing to be with him. Anyways, so here's the deal: in his photo, I thought he looked about late 20s, early 30s. Turns out he's not. In fact, he's really 44. *Twice* my age (22).

So now I'm utterly confused what to do. I mean, I can tell I'm smitten with him, and I know he likes me. Do I give this amazing guy a chance even though things will likely be very complicated? Like, I know he doesn't want any kids; I on the other hand want to adopt when I'm older. Knowing his age, I figure I'd most likely have to give up that if I do go long-term with him. Then there's the issue of my family, which I'm extremely attached to. A bunch of conservative Christian Baptists, they all ready have trouble accepting my sexuality; they'd blow a gasket if I was with a guy twice my age. So I'm just utterly confused :frowning2:.