1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Really, with my professor?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by asnj76, Oct 23, 2010.

1. asnj76

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Well, I'm new to emptyclosets. I came across this site when I was looking for advice forums online, and I think y'all might be able to help me with a situation I'm having.

This is a long story, but I'm going to keep it short. I'm in college right now, and I just started having a relationship with one of my professors. He isn't my current instructor (I had him last semester), and we didn't have a sexual relationship until after I was out of his class. We obviously met when he was my professor, and we were both involved in a group on campus and were in the same building most of the time during classes, so we saw each other all the time. Right now he's still living in the same city, but he's working for a private company and not teaching any classes. Basically what I'm trying to say is none of this is illegal.

He's about twice my age, but he runs marathons, has his PhD, is really cute, and pays for everything when we go out (even though I try to not let him). My friends think that he's "taking advantage of me" because he's obviously older and more established while I'm still fairly young and in college. I don't like to think that he is just because our relationship has gone to the next stage, because if anything I feel like I may be subconsciously taking advantage of him.

I don't know how to feel about this. It feels so right when I'm with this guy, but all of my friends think that it's going to end badly. And if my parents found out I was dating a former professor, they would literally come up to my college and beat the sh*t out of me. Is it ok to have a relationship like this?

2. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status: