1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I don't want to take the easy road anymore!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Vivi, Nov 15, 2010.

1. Vivi

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Ok, I haven’t posted much on here but something’s been on my mind recently that I just want to get off my chest. And I’m sorry if this gets a bit messy, I’m trying to get it written in time before I go to work, and I’m not very good at talking about my feelings anyway.

Basically, my problem is that I never take risks in life and never put myself out there. I always take the easy option. I just find it really difficult to open up to people and step outside my comfort zone and recently I’ve been starting to realise that it’s had quite a big effect on the way I dealt with being gay – or rather didn’t deal with it.

I suppose this started a few days ago when I watched the movie ‘Shelter’ (awesome film by the way) which really made me think about myself and my situation. It opened my eyes to a few things.

It reminded me that there are people out there who have it much tougher in their lives than I do. People who have real problems, for whatever reason, but who are still able to come to terms with their sexuality and deal with it better than I’ve been able to.

I’m pretty sure a few people have figured out I’m gay. I don’t try to hide it but at the same time I’ve never actually told anyone - even though i'm sure my friends and family would be accepting. It comes back to the difficulty I have opening up to people, even people I’m very close to.