1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Something positive

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by xadude, Dec 23, 2010.

1. xadude

I'm not entirely sure if I should post this here... I haven't posted in ages but I had a sudden urge to post this fairly recent development here. It might support some who read it; it might stir up some discussion. If people read it I am quite happy so I will try and keep it short (although that will be a challenge)

Point being, I am in my second year of university and I have met this transgender girl (biologically a boy, identifies as a girl, for the sake of the story I will call her Claire). Her story is a rather sad one but an impressive one at that. We met during the first weeks of term and started talking. She would come into where I work every Monday night just so we could talk. During those endless talks Claire told me the story of her life. She comes from a small town in the north of Scotland where honour is often the only thing people have and they will do a lot to protect it. Claire has always been a bit of an outsider, she has a speech impediment which is part of the reason why her parents have been repressive.

Basically she has been emotionally abused all her life, by her parents, by her siblings and by the people at school. Being highly intelligent has been extremely close to doing some seriously bad things but actually never has although the crimes (and that is not an exaggeration) that have been committed towards her have given her many reasons to do something back especially considering the police in her town do not step up for those less fortunate in a disability kind of way.