1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Standing Up To Her

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by No One, Dec 25, 2010.

1. No One

As many of you know I tried to come out to my mom when I was a freshman in high school. Lets just say it didn't go well. Ever since then, with increasing frequency in the last year, she makes these little comments and noises (along the lines of "Eww" and "Ugh" or "Thats disgusting" etc.) every time the word gay or anything to do with it is mentioned. She continually makes these comments about my best friends (Who are lesbians) which are very mean and unsolicited. It is increasingly insulting and I dont think I am going to be able to handle it much longer. I feel like it is time that I stand up for myself, but Im not exactly sure how to do so.

Any advice?

2. maverick

She's baiting you for a fight, and other than confronting her about you being gay (again) which obviously will lead to a fight, I think some liberal snark and sarcasm could be your best friend in this scenario, along with a dose of good humor about the situation.

As far as her talking about your friends goes though, I would stand up to her. Her attitude is uncalled for. Just say something to the effect of, "So-and-So is my friend and nothing you say will ever change that, so could we please move on?"

Or, if she starts in, get up and leave the room. If you do it every time she says something, she'll start to associate her hateful attitude with your literal withdrawal. If she loves you, this will hurt her, and hopefully cause her to reconsider her actions/words towards you.

3. echapper

Hey! I am sorry you have to experience this. Standing up for your friends and yourself is definitely the right thing to do. Even if it means starting a fight with your mother. Here's what I would do:

*something gay comes up*
    Mom: "ewww"
    You: "Sorry, what did you say?"
    Mom: "Oh, nothing"