1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Want to tell someone but I'm not sure if I should...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Jaydos, Jan 10, 2011.

1. Jaydos

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Ok, first off this is my first time posting on this website (i seriously only made an account about 30mins ago) and secondly please excuse my poor spelling, now and in future posts.

I need some advise on whether or not I should tell some friends/my mum that I'm gay. I've been 99% sure for about just a little over a month now and I've made it my new years resolution to tell at least my best friend (who's a girl (like most of my friends)). But the only thing that's stopping me is that if I tell my friends things can get out and news like this travels around my school fast.

Now it's not that I don't trust my friends, because I do, my problem is that I'm worried that if my whole school finds out that I'm going to get bullied already more than I do at the moment (I'm not so popular at my school).

I don't know, maybe it's just me being paranoid but I really want to tell someone without the risk of everyone finding out. :help:

2. Rosina

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Firstly I big HEY :smilewave and welcome to the family, glad you could join us! :slight_smile:

Right, I'm not fantastic source of advice for this, but I'll give some thoughts that I have - these are not set in stone and I would say they're certainly not the best, but here they are...

You say you're worried that news travels fast around schools (my experience, it certainly does XD) and you're worried that you could get further bulling for it. I valid fear, I have to agree. So based on this, can your friend keep a secret? That's a biggie, if she can't, or might confide in one of her friends, will they keep it under-wraps?