1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Online Dating Question

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by higby442, Jan 20, 2011.

1. higby442

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey All,

I was looking to get some advice from all of you regarding online dating.

*** Disclaimer-I over analyze everything, so I apologize for ridiculous questions but appreciate all your feedback very much!

I am really new to the online thing and I have only done traditional dating before. So far it's been pretty cool. I met a really great guy a couple weeks ago, and we have had great conversations. Yesterday we met for the 1st time for lunch. He ended up driving about 45 minutes to come to where I live.

Anyway, here's the first question. Some of my freinds told me on the first date, post talking online its best to give a hug the first time. We ended up shaking hands which seemed fine to me. Is that just right or too informal?

Anyway, lunch went great. We ended up talking for 2.5 hours about all kinds of stuff. We stayed away from all things like political issues etc. and just talked about school (we are both in school) and our interests. I had a fantastic time. We shared laughs and it was equally 50/50 on who asked questions of the other etc. We both made eye contact a lot. Anyway, he had to leave to get back home so we decided to leave.

Here's where I need your input next. In the parking lot, I told him I had a really great time and would love to get together again. He said "yeah me too". Then I said, "well I guess we will be in touch then" and went in for a real quick hug. Was that too much? It seemed right to me and I didnt want to just wave and say goodbye.