1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Life's Choices

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by zeratul, Jan 21, 2011.

1. zeratul

zeratul Guest

For all of my teenage years, I've simply just ignored my sexual and interpersonal desires (of having a relation and share love with someone). I believed in the power of purity of mind as any youngster might who enjoy reading a few fantasy novels here and there. I focused my attention in school work, avoided social events like parties, and I graduated my high school and university with top grades, and now I've got a really good job. So in a sense, all the dedication to this purity business is paying off. I should feel happy about my life right?

But I don't, you see. I feel bottled up and tainted. I cannot share my happiness with anyone, because I cannot even accept it myself. My mom asks me why do I choose to be lonely all the time, why not find a nice girl and live a more fulfilling life by sharing each other's joys. I told her I have no interest in girls and cannot be happy with any. But truly I cannot. I've already come to grips with that, and have no fantasies about living a life of lies. So she asks me if I want to bring home a boyfriend....

... but I cannot come out of the closet either. Through my youth I've made many friends, they are ones who've been focused on academics just like I have, but without my motives. These are people from all over the world and subscribe to all kinds of religious or philosophical ideologies, one of my best friend, who has helped me in a lot of things, is a muslim who as some of you might guess, believes that homosexuals should be "stoned to death". I'm going to lose these friends for sure if I came out of the closet. I cannot bare the thought of that.